Info on life rafts in cruise ships needed for research

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Info on life rafts in cruise ships needed for research

Hey, everyone. This is not a typical post for this forum, I'm sure, but I hope some of you can help me out with your expertise.

I am a writer currently working on a novel in which the first scene shows the evacuation of a sinking cruise ship. I've had many people object to me regarding my scene where three characters evacuate using a life raft. I show that the ship is half submerged and the characters go to the lowest floor in the ship that is not submerged. They jump out of a window into the sea and then board a life raft. Is this scene unrealistic? I'd appreciate any help!

Thanks a lot!

Well, life rafts are usually located inside a hard container capsule on the ship. They can be launched in 3 ways which are automatically, manually or launching by Davits. Since your story depicts your characters boarding a life raft that’s already in the sea, it’s realistic because the life raft launching system (Hydrostatic Release Unit) will automatically launch the life raft to the surface and inflate when a sinking of a ship occurs.

Comment

Originally posted by Devanshi Gupta View Post
      Hey, everyone. This is not a typical post for this forum, I'm sure, but I hope some of you can help me out with your expertise.

I am a writer currently working on a novel in which the first scene shows the evacuation of a sinking cruise ship. I've had many people object to me regarding my scene where three characters evacuate using a life raft. I show that the ship is half submerged and the characters go to the lowest floor in the ship that is not submerged. They jump out of a window into the sea and then board a life raft. Is this scene unrealistic? I'd appreciate any help!

Thanks a lot!